Manslaughter Charges In Kentucky
All charges stemming from the loss of life, including manslaughter charges, are quite serious. In Kentucky, to be specific, the crime of manslaughter is taken quite seriously, and there are harsh penalties for people convicted of this violent crime. If you are facing manslaughter charges in Kentucky, you need to reach out to a criminal defense attorney experienced in defending people facing such charges as soon as possible. Such an attorney can help you build a strong defense, fight your charges, and protect your rights. Depending on the specifics of your case, your manslaughter charges might be reduced, or your case might not end in a conviction if you retain a skilled violent crimes attorney.
The Definition of Manslaughter in Kentucky
In Kentucky, manslaughter is categorized into two degrees. That is manslaughter in the first degree and manslaughter in the second degree.
Manslaughter in the First Degree
According to KRS 507.030, a person is guilty of first-degree manslaughter, which is a Class B felony, when;
- With the intention to cause severe bodily injury, they cause the death of such a person or that of another person;
- With the intention to cause death to another person, they cause the death of such a person or that of another person under circumstances that do not constitute murder because they act under the influence of extreme emotional disturbance;
- Through circumstances that do not constitute the offense of murder, they intentionally abuse another person or knowingly allow another person of whom they have custody to suffer abuse and thereby cause death to a person, not above the age of 12, or who is mentally or physically helpless.
Sometimes, manslaughter in the first degree is referred to as voluntary manslaughter.
Manslaughter in the Second Degree
According to KRS 507.040, a person is guilty of second-degree manslaughter, which is a Class C felony, when they wantonly cause the death of another person. For example, a person can be charged with manslaughter in the second degree in a situation where the death results from the person’s operation of a motor vehicle. A person can also be charged with manslaughter in the second degree if;
- they left a child under the age of 8 in a motor vehicle under circumstances that manifest an extreme indifference to human life and create a huge risk of death to the child, only for the child to die; or
- they illegally distributed a Schedule I or II controlled substance for payment only for the substance to be the proximate cause of death.
Sometimes, manslaughter in the second degree is referred to as involuntary manslaughter.
Penalties for Manslaughter in Kentucky
In Kentucky, manslaughter in the first degree is punishable by 10 to 20 years in prison, and manslaughter in the second degree is punishable by 5 to 10 years in prison. Additionally, being convicted of manslaughter can result in you paying a fine of up to $10,000.
Contact a Violent Crimes Lawyer in London, Kentucky
If you are facing manslaughter charges, it would be best to contact a London criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. At Cessna & George Law Firm, we are dedicated to building strong defenses for people facing manslaughter charges and other violent crime charges. Contact us today at 606-770-5400 for a free evaluation of your case.